Renault Sport Trophy - Nürburgring - Prestige & Elite races

Pizzitola and Capitanio win at the Nürburgring

Andrea Pizzitola (ART Junior Team) and Dario Capitanio (Oregon Team) each scored his maiden win in the Renault Sport Trophy this Sunday at the Nürburgring. The Frenchman took the laurels in Sprint Elite ahead of Steijn Schothorst (Equipe Verschuur) and Indy Dontje (ART Junior Team), and is now 10 points adrift of Schothorst in the general classification. Earlier in the day, Dario Capitanio (Oregon Team) won for the first time this season in Sprint Prestige ahead of Niccolò Nalio (Oregon Team) and Max Braams (V8 Racing) and is the new leader of the category.

Capitanio in control

On pole for the Prestige race, Dario Capitanio started ahead of Richard Gonda (ART Junior Team) and Niccolò Nalio, third after the penalty to Max Braams. At the first corner, Richard Gonda spun, while Dario Capitanio led from Niccolò Nalio and Max Braams. The leading trio pulled away from Toni Forné (ART Junior Team) and Eric Trémoulet (Monlau Competicion) before the rain began to fall on lap seven. The Catalan native lost control and while trying to avoid an incident, the Frenchman went through the gravel trap. Later, Philippe Bourgois (Zele Racing) made the same mistake, which resulted in the safety car being called into service.

The race re-started for the final lap. Dario Capitanio didn’t rattle and took his maiden win in Sprint Prestige ahead of Niccolò Nalio and Max Braams. Richard Gonda’s move through the field finished with a fourth place. He was followed by Diederik Sijthoff (V8 Racing) and Toni Forné. Andres Mendez (Zele Racing), Oliver Freymuth (V8 Racing), Adalberto Baptista (Oregon Team) and Antonio Coimbra (Equipe Verschuur) completed the top ten.

A first for Pizzitola

The Elite race started behind the safety car. After two laps, pole winner Roy Geerts (V8 Racing) led the way, ahead of David Fumanelli (Oregon Team), Andrea Pizzitola, Steijn Schothorst and Indy Dontje (ART Junior Team), who overtook Nicky Pastorelli (V8 Racing). On lap four, David Fumanelli tried to pass Roy Geerts, but it was Andrea Pizzitola who made the most of the situation to take the lead ahead of Steijn Schothorst and the Italian.

Hardly threatened, Andrea Pizzitola took the win ahead of Steijn Schothorst. Indy Dontje took the final spot on the podium in overtaking David Fumanelli on lap nine. Fifth place Luciano Bacheta (Oregon Team) was followed by Nicky Pastorelli and Alan Hellmeister (Oregon Team). Michela Cerruti (Monlau Competicion) won the battle for eighth place with Miguel Ramos (Equipe Verschuur), while Vittorio Ghirelli (Zele Racing) took the final point on offer.


Dario Capitanio: “For my first to be at the Nürburgring, this victory feels amazing. Today, I was able to get a good start and maintain good pace. There was a little apprehension due to the rain, but it all went okay because the car was perfect and has allowed me to take an eight point lead in the championship.”

Andrea Pizzitola: “It wasn’t an easy race, but it could’ve been worse! I was able to take advantage of the fight in front of me to overtake the two leaders. It was easier than I thought it would be, but then I had to push as hard as possible, while avoid making mistakes. Consistency was the key and I am very happy with this first victory.”

Provisional General Classification Endurance* : 1. Fumanelli/Capitanio – 79 points, 2. Bacheta/Nalio – 55, 3. Pizzitola/Gonda – 45, 4. Geerts/Braams – 43, 5. Dontje/Forné – 43…
Provisional General Classification Elite* : 1. S. Schothorst – 105 points, 2. A. Pizzitola – 95, 3. D. Fumanelli – 60, 4. I. Dontje – 56, 5. R. Geerts – 49…
Provisional General Classification Prestige* : 1. D. Capitanio – 94 points, 2. N. Nalio – 86, 3. D. Sijthoff – 80, 4. M. Braams – 71, 5. T. Forné – 68…*Subject to confirmation of the results following the technical and sporting verifications

More releases from Nürburgring

Collective Test - Steijn Schothorst on top at the Nürburgring
Endurance Race - Maiden win for Geerts and Braams at the Nürburgring
Prestige & Elite races - Pizzitola and Capitanio win at the Nürburgring

Classifications from Nürburgring

Qualifying Elite
Qualifying Prestige
Endurance race
Prestige race
Elite Race
Back to main list