Renault Sport Trophy - Nürburgring - Endurance Race

Maiden win for Geerts and Braams at the Nürburgring

The Dutch pair of Roy Geerts and Max Braams (V8 Racing #4) scored their maiden win in the Renault Sport Trophy during the Endurance race at the Nürburgring. Starting from pole, the 2013 Formula Renault 1.6 NEC Junior champion held on to the lead before handing off to Max Braams. While he lost the lead in the pits, Max Braams returned to the sharp end of the order to take the chequered flag ahead of David Fumanelli and Dario Capitanio (Oregon Team #8), who still lead the general classification and the tandem of Andrea Pizzitola and Richard Gonda (ART Junior Team #2). Winner of the intermediate classification, Roy Geerts moves up to third place in Elite, which is still led by Steijn Schothorst (Equipe Verschuur #10), who was fourth at the half-way point of the race.

In posting best time during the Elite drivers qualifying session, Roy Geerts won the pole for himself and team mate Max Braams, ahead of Capitanio-Fumanelli and Pizzitola-Gonda.

Geerts untouchable

At the start, Roy Geerts led from David Fumanelli and Andrea Pizzitola. Steijn Schothorst and Indy Dontje (ART Junior Team #3), who started seventh, followed closely behind. Further back, Luciano Bacheta (Oregon Team #6) retired, and Nicky Pastorelli (V8 Racing #5) returned to the pits to shut the right-hand side door. Meanwhile, Bas Schothorst (Zele Racing #11) got around Alan Hellmeister for seventh place. In the intermediate classification, Roy Geerts led from David Fumanelli and Andrea Pizzitola. Forth place Steijn Schothorst was followed by Indy Dontje, Vittorio Ghirelli (Zele Racing #9), Bas Schothorst, Alan Hellmeister (Oregon Team #7), Miguel Ramos (Equipe Verschuur #1) and Michela Cerruti (Monlau Competicion #14).

Braams triumphs in his duel with Capitanio

During the drive change window, Roy Geerts handed over to Max Braams. David Fumanelli made his stop after, which allowed Dario Capitanio to take the lead. Richard Gonda took over from Andrea Pizzitola and was in third place, whereas Jeroen Schothorst (Equipe Verschuur #10) and Vittorio Ghirelli dropped out. While the positions looked to be fixed, the off track excursion of Adalberto Baptista (Oregon Team #7 on lap 29 brought out the safety car. At the re-start, Max Braams took the lead of the race and went on for the win despite a last minute attack from Capitanio on the final lap. Richard Gonda finished third, ahead of Eric Trémoulet (Monlau Competicion #14), who put in an impressive comeback drive. Toni Forné (ART Junior Team #3) was fifth, ahead of Antonio Coimbra (Equipe Verschuur #1), Diederik Sijthoff (V8 Racing #5), - despite a penalty for not respecting the allotted pit stop time - Andres Mendez (Zele Racing #11) and Oliver Freymuth (V8 Racing #45).


Roy Geerts: “It was a perfect race just until the pit stop. We struggled and lost a little bit of time. It is a shame because we lost a position, but Max finally managed to win. The team did a fine job and I am happy with this victory.”

Max Braams: “I must thank the race director for having sent out the safety car. I was in second and struggling to close the gap. I needed a bit of luck and we got some. The guys behind kept the pressure on just until the last lap. It was a very clean fight and I am thrilled to have won!”

Provisional Endurance general classification* : 1. Fumanelli/Capitanio – 79 points, 2. Bacheta/Nalio – 55, 3. Pizzitola/Gonda – 45, 4. Geerts/Braams – 43, 5. Dontje/Forné – 43… Retour ligne automatique
Provisional Elite general classification*: 1. S. Schothorst – 87 points, 2. A. Pizzitola – 70, 3. R. Geerts – 49, 4. D. Fumanelli – 48, 5. W. Reip – 45…Retour ligne automatique
Provisional Prestige general classification * : 1. D. Sijthoff – 70 points, 2. D. Capitanio – 69, 3. N. Nalio – 68, 4. T. Forné – 60, 5. M. Braams – 56…Retour ligne automatique
*Subject to confirmation of the results following the technical and sporting verifications.

More releases from Nürburgring

Collective Test - Steijn Schothorst on top at the Nürburgring
Endurance Race - Maiden win for Geerts and Braams at the Nürburgring
Prestige & Elite races - Pizzitola and Capitanio win at the Nürburgring

Classifications from Nürburgring

Qualifying Elite
Qualifying Prestige
Endurance race
Prestige race
Elite Race
Back to main list